Skip to content

What I do on my blog

January 25, 2009

I want to say first of all that I support Sasy’s “Stop The Hate” initiative 110 percent. In my comment to her I did say that I think people have reasons for disliking or being annoyed by certain things, but I don’t feel the need to be malignant about it and having said my piece months ago, I’m not interested in repeating it.

That’s not what this post is about. I found this quote from her post to be especially meaningful and it got me thinking.

Lastly another thing is the difference between reviewing and featuring, I see comments a lot about how bloggers don’t do proper reviews, well thats an assumption on the readers part that the blog is a review blog, mine for one is not now and never will be a review blog,

To begin with, if your blog is featured on the “Fashion Planet” feed in particular, as well as Carissa Crimson’s feed and the Metavirtual fashion feed and some others, then obviously, your blog is intended to have some focus on fashion. However, there’s a great many ways your blog could be about fashion within that broad label.

Maybe you’re a designer showing your items. Maybe you’re a photographer looking for a way to show what you can do and a fashion post will help you do that. Maybe you’re a model or a modeling agency looking for exposure. Maybe you’re a professional stylist or shopping consultant and your blog helps you demonstrate the kind of things you can help a resident do. Or maybe you’re just a regular girl or boy, interested in fashion, and for whatever reason you decide to start blogging.

Even then, maybe you only want to do Looks of the Day. Maybe you only want to respond to Blogger Challenges. Maybe you only do reviews. Maybe you only do features. Maybe, maybe, maybe. (All you’s generic of course)

When I started my blog, I did it strictly at the urging of my two best SL friends. They would say things like, “You have such a flair for putting things together, you should blog.” or “I bet a lot of people would love to see that outfit you have on.” And so on. Each time, they said things like this, I immediately disagreed. I was just a girl in SL enjoying the chance to dress up and use Fashion as the art form I believe it can be. I wasn’t anything special like some of my idols of the Feed, like Sasy Scarborough or Milla Michinaga or Ana Lutetia.

Also, I wasn’t too sure about my picture quality. I’d been interested in Flickr for a while and really marveled at the talent of some of the bright lights there. But, eventually my friends wore me down.

Then I had to think for a while, what would be the focus of my blog. What would I do with it? How would I show what I wanted to show without doing some of the nonos I saw some other bloggers doing. Nonos only to me of course.

To begin with, I knew I didn’t ever want to post a “bad review”. I developed a review policy based on this and a few other things. Most of the items I wear or review or showcase on my blog I bought myself. I couldn’t imagine asking for review items. I was still thinking of myself (As I do now) as just a regular girl showing some things she likes to wear. I figured any designer I asked would wonder who I was and what I thought I was doing.

Since then I have once or twice asked for review copies and done my very best to give an honest and thorough review of items I posted. Like Sasy, I will immediately tell a designer if I see some flaw that will make an item impossible for me to review.

I also spent and still spend time looking at and learning from tutorials, trying to make my pictures better each time. I’ve learned a lot and continue to do so. It’s true, I like to be able to show the results of my labor, but since I make it a habit never to edit my pictures beyond cropping and compiling so that the item looks as it does in world, most of my “better” pictures are only on flickr though occasionally I slide one through that I’m proud of.

The thing is, unless the title of my post says “Review” then my post is not a review per se and I don’t even consider it one. Yes, I take a page from other blogger’s books and talk a bit about the items, including mentioning reattachments or tinting or any problems I might have had. That’s again called honesty. If a blogger is not honest, what’s the point? Also, I want to tell the reader why i like these items and why i think they look good together, if they are interested in knowing. It’s perfectly okay if they just skip to the shopping bag at the end, whatever the reader does is fine with me.

I suppose you could say my blog is mostly looks of the day or Hey look at this outfit i put together today. So, if you’re expecting a particular thing from my blog, don’t. I consider my blog to be very personal. I show you, the SL World, (or at least the fashion interested part of it) what I like. I don’t expect you to agree, necessarily, and I’m fine with you scrolling past me if you don’t. But, since it’s my personal taste and my personal ideas, yup, it’s personal and therefore it can’t really be put into any particular “box” for what’s going to be on here.

Just for fun, here’s a picture I did and tried out some editing techniques on.

I’m wearing skin by Redgrave, hair by Truth, tattoo by Nardcotix, skirt by Stellar Designs, Top and jewelry by Zaara and nails by Candy Nail. Please note this is an “EDITED” photo so this may not look exactly the same in world. I’ll add slurls later when this god awful headache passes.

You can find my flickr pics from the widget on the lower right of this post.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. sasyscarborough permalink
    January 25, 2009 7:01 pm

    🙂 lovely , thank you Sugar for showing a little more of what makes you you.

    xox Sasy xox

  2. sasyscarborough permalink
    January 25, 2009 7:03 pm

    Sugarr, Im sorry misspelled your name :((

    xox Sasy xox

  3. Sugarr Delight permalink*
    January 25, 2009 7:12 pm

    No worries, Sasy, thanks so much for your comment. 🙂

  4. April 21, 2009 1:34 pm

    /me is one of the friends who pushed *looks all proud and stuff*

Leave a Reply

